Florida Auto Insurance Liability Minimums

Understanding Florida Auto Insurance Liability Minimums

As a driver it is imperative that you gather the appropriate amount of insurance coverage to protect you, your vehicle, and any other person driving your car.  In the state of Florida, they have no-fault and PIP (Personal Injury Protection) insurance laws to sufficiently protect drivers on a larger scale.  These laws also help to reduce the total amount of liability suits that have the possibility of being filed.  The system itself is slightly complicated, but your insurance company will deal with the complicated aspects.  If you’re interested in learning more about Florida auto insurance liability minimums, visit this website or this guide will help explain the process to you.

Property Damage and Personal Injury Protection

The state of Florida requires that every driver have a minimum liability coverage for at least $10,000.00 on both personal injury protection and property damage.  The insurance offered is a complete no-fault insurance due to the fact that if you are in an accident and are at-fault, your insurance will pay for all of the damage incurred to the other party.  Whereas with generic insurance, each party will take care of their own amount of loss.  The main objective of this personal injury protection and property damage insurance minimum is to help to cover any expenses in terms of medical needs and other personal losses in the event of an accident.

Bodily Injury Liability Insurance

Another part of Florida auto insurance liability minimums is being covered by Bodily Injury Liability (BIL).  Certain drivers will be required to have coverage for BIL if they have had previous accidents or traffic violations.  This type of insurance coverage will help to pay for any serious/permanent injuries or death of the other party if you are ever in an automobile accident.  The minimum for Bodily Injury Liability coverage is 10/20, meaning that your insurance company will pay up to $10,000.00 per person that was injured due to the accident in the other vehicle but no more than $20,000.00 per person.

Insurance Coverage Pay Scales

Another component of Florida auto insurance minimums is the amount of money that your insurance company will pay in the event of an accident.  Depending on the amount of your deductible and the amount of insurance that you purchased, these numbers could vary.  Generally, your insurance company will pay up to 80% of your medical costs which is 200% more than Medicare.  Within that 80%, you will receive $5,000.00 in emergency room and in-patient medical visits.  Depending on your policy, you may also be able to collect 100% of certain services like housekeeping.

Lawsuits

Once you have signed with an insurance company and are aware of the Florida auto insurance liability minimums, you may encounter a situation where you require legal assistance.  You can bring forth a lawsuit for significant loss of functions and permanent injuries.  If you find that you have been in an accident where you have been severely injured, your insurance company will help you to get the funds that you deserve.

Auto Insurance Florida

Obtaining car insurance isn’t difficult but can be a bit overwhelming if you don’t know who to contact. Your best bet is to go to a website that offers multiple quotes from various insurance companies so that they can give you the best possible quote in the least amount of time.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.